Skilled DUI Attorney Defending Those Accused of Drunk Driving in Los Angeles County and Beyond
Facing a DUI charge can be terrifying. In addition to the prospect of losing your license, you could also face jail time and onerous fines. Attorney Montie M. Reynolds has made it his life work to defend San Gabriel residents charged with driving under the influence. If you or someone you love has recently been accused of DUI, don’t delay — the help you need is only a phone call away.
Penalties For Your First DUI Offense
Considered a misdemeanor in the state of California, your first DUI offense carries an automatic license suspension of four months; a three-day jail sentence; completion of an alcohol assessment course; installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID); a fine ranging from $390 to $1,000; and a probation sentence ranging from three to five years.
Second DUI Offense
Should you be convicted of a second DUI within ten years of your first offense, you will spend at least ten days in jail and will have your license suspended for one year. Keep in mind that this license suspension will prohibit you from driving to and from work. The state of California takes driving under the influence very seriously, which means you need the assistance of a seasoned criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.
In the event that someone is killed or injured due to your driving under the influence, you may be found guilty of a felony and could potentially spend up to five years in state jail (depending on whether or not you had prior DUI convictions). Keep in mind that prior convictions for misdemeanor DUI offenses count as prior offenses for the purpose of increasing your prison sentence.